California State Parks Directors & Parks Division Chiefs: 1927 – 2014

By Michael G. Lynch (Rev. 1-15-15)

Department of Parks and Recreation (established 1961) Natural Resources Agency



July 7, 2014 Lisa Mangat, Acting Director



November 13, 2012 – June 30, 2014 Major General Anthony L. Jackson, USMC (Ret), Director



July 20, 2012 - November 13, 2012: **Janelle Beland, Acting Director**



2002-July 19, 2012: Ruth Coleman, Director



1999-2002: Rusty (John) Areias, Director



1997-1999: Patricia Megason, Director



1992-1997: Donald W. Murphy, Director



1987-1992: Henry Agonia, Director



1983-1987: William S. Briner, Director



1983-1983: Carol Hallett, Director (Appointed / Not Confirmed)



1983: Les McCargo, Acting Director



1980-1983: Peter Dangermond, Jr., Director



1977-1980: Russell W. Cahill, Director



1975-1977: Herbert Rhodes, Director



1967-1975: William Penn Mott, Jr., Director



1965-1966: Fred L. Jones



1961- 1965: Charles A. DeTurk



Division of Beaches and Parks (1941-1964)



1959-1961: Charles A. DeTurk, Division Chief



1951-1959: Newton B. Drury, Division Chief



1950-1951: Earl P. Hanson, Acting Division Chief



1943-1950: A.E. Henning, Division Chief



1941-1943: Darwin Tate, Division Chief

Division of Parks (1927-1941) – Department of Natural Resources



1939-1941: Darwin Tate, Division Chief



1937-1939: A.E. Henning, Division Chief



1934-1936: **James A. Snook, Division Chief** (? Picture might not be correct)



1928-1934: Charles B. Wing, Division Chief

Department of Natural Resources (1927 – 1961)- Directors



1953-1961: **Dewitt Nelson**, Director



1944-1953: Warren Hannum, Director

No Known Photo

1943-1944: William H. Moore, Director



1941-1943: Kenneth I. Fulton, Director



1939-1941: Richard Sachse, Director



1934-1939: George Nordenholt, Director



1931-1934: Daniel H. Blood, Director



1927-1931: Fred G. Stevenot, Director

Department of Natural Resources

Agency History: The Department of Natural Resources was created in 1927 (Chaptered 128) combining under a single agency the state's interests in the fields of fish and game conservation, forestry, mining, parks, and resources management. Under the 1927 law, four Divisions were specified: Fish and Game; Forestry; Mines and Mining; and Parks. A division of Oil and Gas was added in 1929 (Ch. 535). Various divisional name changes occurred in succeeding years and additional programs in recreation and soil conservation were added. Fish and Game attained separate departmental status in 1951 (Ch. 195). The Department of Natural Resources was reorganized in 1961 and renamed as the Department of Conservation (Ch. 2037). The same law created a new Department of Parks and Recreation in 1961.

Sources:

- California Department of Parks and Recreation (CDPR)
- CDPR News and Views newsletters
- California Conservationist magazine (California Department of Natural Resources 1935-1941)
- California Blue Books or State Roster (1928 to 1971)
- State Parks of California by Joseph H. Engbeck, Jr.
- Michael Whitehead